Brandy Day254: With Love, Thank You, We Miss You, Never Forgotten

share_tempory

Where were you when the world stopped 13 years ago?  The fact that it has been 13 years is wild.  I believe if you were alive and capable of memory you remember minute for minute what you were doing.  Here’s my story.

My senior year of high school I signed my paperwork to be a member of the United States Army.  I graduated in May and left in August.  I was at Ft Jackson, SC.  (Things are a lot different now than they were then as far as training and guidelines.)  We were not allowed to have any sort of candy or pop.  So we would go to the PX (store on base) and buy Ludens cough drops and chew on them as ‘candy’.  September 11, I was standing in the PX waiting in line, when I heard chatter and commotion behind me.  I turned around in time to see the second plane hit on the t.v. that was mounted on the wall.  We all stood there shocked and silent.  The base was immediately locked down.  No phone calls on or off the base, no mail & every car that came to base was stopped & searched.  We were on 24 hour guard duty.  It was intense.  Emotional. It was nerve racking.  I remember not being able to call home for a day or two maybe, I’m not sure, I just know that I needed to call home to be sure my family was ok and they knew that I was ok. (Cell phones were not allowed we just had payphones that were turned on & off by headquarters.)

I am no longer a member of the United States Military.  My dog tags hang from my rear view mirror as a reminder.  A reminder of many things but most of all that day.  For the victims. For the survivors. For the soldiers who continue to fight & those we’ve lost. They risk more than just their life. For the families that support them. For the police & fire who risk their life to save & protect strangers. For the 2,996 lives lost.  For the day that will never be forgotten. For the memories we will always share.

#September11 #NY

Leave a Reply

