Chandler Day 257: Take Another Look

DSC04940Tonight Brandy sent me a video about why a person hated religion and instead just focused on god. It got me thinking. I agreed with many things he said. I personally have no religion nor do I believe in any god. I suppose there is the possibility of a superior force out there but I will continue on with my life perfectly alright without it. I have seen religion do some nasty things and I have watched things around me and they do not agree with the idea that there is a personal, good god. There are big evils you could point to that would help this point, but instead I point to the guilt, shame and anxiety that religion can cause. I point to how it divides families, prevents people from moving on and being happy, how it judges people, how it discriminates, how it puts people down and the violence it causes. And I point to the fear that it instills to control. Of course the idea of religion itself does not necessarily do this. It’s the people that do, I get it. But people are affected by ideas and ideologies and these are the results. This is what happens when people act on these ideas that they were taught. Of course there is good there too. But maybe we should take a look at our beliefs, at our religions and what they cause us to do. Challenge your beliefs and really look at the world around you and see what you find. You might be surprised.

One thought on “Chandler Day 257: Take Another Look

Leave a Reply

