Chandler Day 260: As Pencil Hits Paper

DSC05169Inspiration strikes at weird times and it is affected by everything around us. Things we do, see, hear, read, feel and think about. Images pop up or the simple urge to make a mark pushes us to create. It happens in countless mediums and in countless ways. I sit in my room and read and think and then I have the urge to draw. Someone told me about how children at a certain age draw  for the simple pleasure of making marks and the feel of the motion as pencil hits paper. So I did that. I just drew, with really no meaning or purpose other than the marks I made felt good to draw. Great artists spend their entire lives trying to draw like a child. And I really think there is something behind that.

Leave a Reply

