Brandy Day262: Turtley Enough For The Turtle Club

image

To describe today….there aren’t words….I could only hope what happened today will eventually be normal for me,  always a natural high.
After shooting sunrise, I headed up to Cape Hatteras to grab some shots of the lighthouse. After I was finished, I wandered across the way to the beach.  I noticed some people standing around a roped off area with signs announcing the sea turtle nest just beyond the rope. I chatted with the people there, to find out they were excavating that nest shortly! As they began to dig up the nest, they sat aside the eggs to count and track. 75 total, 15 unhatched & 1still hanging out in the nest, the rest, well hopefully they made it to sea. The remaining one was taken back to be checked out and released later. I stood and chatted with the rangers, finding out very helpful & useful information. I gave them my contact information, and was invited back this evening to watch them release 35 baby turtles (including the one from this morning) into the wild ocean.
What an amazing event. You almost felt proud to be part of something so awesome. Hoping the best for these babies in such an aggressive world.
This is me. This is what I want to do. <3!!

Leave a Reply

