Brandy Day281: He Should Have Been Named Lunar :-)

image

Not sure where to start with this. I was told his name was Freeney. Found out his name is Riggs. He’s 4 years old and lucky to be alive.
I was up early to shoot the lunar eclipse and sunrise. I went to what was familiar, where I knew I’d be able to shoot moonset and sunrise in an opposite field. I noticed him when I first turned down the road. I didn’t know I’d be saving his life just a few minutes later. A car that was going way too fast hit this poor guy. Stopped briefly and just kept going. I did what I had to. At 7am not very many people are around. A homeowner came out and kindly helped get him on a blanket and into the back of my truck. I immediately took him to VCA Animal Hospital. They were able to find him microchipped and tracked down the owners. He was in shock and severe pain as he had a broken pelvis & two broken hips and countless lacerations.
I never got photos of the lunar eclipse nor the sunrise, though I was able to be a part of saving his life.
Thank you to the staff at VCA for being so amazing and all your help. Here’s to a quick recovery with your family and your little boy who’s stoked to have his puppy back home. 

Leave a Reply

